GHADC: NPP stakes claim to form the new executive committee

Meghalaya Chief Minister and NPP Chief Conrad K Sangma along with 15 elected MDCs of GHADC stakes claim to form the new executive committee.

Sangma along with the 15 MDCs called on Governor Satyapal Malik at Raj Bhavan to stake claim to form the new executive committee.

“Called on the Hon’ble Governor, Satyapal Malik Ji with the 15 elected MDCs to stake claim to form a new Executive Committee in GHADC. Together, as the newly constituted Garo Hills Democratic Coalition (GHDC), we will take over GHADC to serve our tribal people of Garo Hills,” Sangma tweeted.

The MDCs which have grouped together as the Garo Hills Democratic Coalition (GHDC), comprises of of 11 NPP MDCs, three independents and one GNC MDC.

As per reports, it has been decided that NPP MDC from Raksamgre Benedict, R Marak will be the new Chief Executive Member (CEM), Rakesh A Sangma (NPP MDC from Babelapara) will be chairperson of GHADC and Nikman Ch Marak (GNC MDC from Rongrikkimgre) will be the Deputy CEM.

The election of the chairman of the GHADC will be held on Monday.

Congress emerged as the single-majority with 12 seats in a neck-to-neck fight with the National People’s Party (NPP) which has bagged 11 seats. BJP has secured two seats, GNC got one and independent candidates secured three seats.

Polling for the 29 out of the 30 Members of District Council (MDCs) was held on April 12. A total of 182 candidates contested for the GHADC elections.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s