GHADC result ends with a neck-to-neck fight between Congress and NPP

As the counting of the votes for the Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC) comes to an end the Congress emerged as the single-majority with 12 seats in a neck-to-neck fight with the National People’s Party (NPP) which has bagged 11 seats.

BJP has secured two seats, GNC got one and independent candidates secured three seats.

The 12 seats Congress booked includes Amongpara, Balachanda, Batabari, Betasing, Boldamgre, Damas, Dengnakpara, Kharkutta, Rongrong, Samandagre, Shyamnagar and Williamnagar

Whereas, NPP won Asanang, Babelapara, Bolsong, Darugre, Gasuapara, Jengjal, Naguapara, Nogorpara, Raksamgre, Siju and Silkigre.

Meanwhile, BJP candidates Bernard Marak has won the prestigious Tura seat and Pramod Koch won the Barengapara seat.

GNC’s Nikman Ch Marak won the Rongrikimgre in South Garo Hills.

The independent candidates won from Rochonpara, Zikzak and Wagesik

Even though Congress wins a majority in GHADC. It is likely that the NPP may form the next Executive Committee with the support of BJP, GNC and Independents.

Polling for the 29 out of the 30 Members of District Council (MDCs) was held on April 12. A total of 182 candidates contested for the GHADC elections.

The ruling NPP and the Opposition Congress has put up candidates in all the 29 MDC seats, the United Democratic Party (UDP) in 15 seats and the BJP in 20 seats.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s